Go to content Go to menu

Mladeč Caves


Mladeč Caves, are located near Mladeč, Olomouc District in the Olomouc Region of the Czech Republic. Mladeč is an Aurignacian archaeological site with a mortal remains of early Homo sapiens sapiens, which are directly dated of radiocarbon method to 31,000  years. The archaeology site contains remains of at least half a dozen individuals, including children. The Mladec finds also includes Aurignacian tools and art associated with early modern humans. 


 In National Geographic, Theodore Schurr, an anthropology professor at the University of Pennsylvania, notes:

"The Mladec individuals do not consistently exhibit the same Neandertal skeletal features, to whatever extent they possess them, nor do they yield any trace of Neandertal DNA... Therefore, based on these data, the Mladec remains show no strong evidence of interbreeding between Neandertals and Homo sapiens sapiens."


Explorations of the cave system were not started by Josef Szombathy, the curator of the collections of the Vienna Museum of Natural History. He began his work in 1881 and carried out successful archaeological research there, with many bones and objects ending up in the Vienna Museum of Natural History.  Szombathy returned to the caves between 1904 and 1905, and also other people began thus Caves to explore. From 1911, the caves were owned by the Landscape Museum Society in Litovel, which modified their exterior, a tourist building was added in front of the entrance and a new entrance was opened. After 1921, the Cave was opened to the public. In 1951, further reconstructions took place, which, however, damaged the character of the caves. The natural appearance of the caves was not restored until 2003. Another reconstruction, which was to return the building to its condition at the beginning of the 20th century, began in 2010. 


Otakar Douša, Stanislav Smékal a Josef Fürst.